TheTruth365 Day 5: Taylor Love

 

The Truth: This Day 5 Preview video has special meaning for me for a few reasons. First of all, the kid in this video is Taylor Love and she is the one who got me involved in this cause. Over 5 years ago I met her and her awesome family and my life will never be the same. The second reason is that Taylor is doing well right now and just got clear scan results. She has fought neuroblastoma and then chemo-induced leukemia requiring a bone marrow transplant and then kidney failure and then liver surgery this spring plus a bunch of other things that I have lost track of. The third reason is that the song is the theme song to our film. It is called “The Truth” and it is written by Nicole Ricken, a 14-year-old from the Chicago area. I met her this spring at a Pennies for Patients fundraiser at her school that was partially for Taylor Love. A few months later I went to Chicago to interview some families for the film and stopped in to meet with Nicole and her family. One of the amazing things was that she wrote this song the day before I got there. She and her family also flew in the DC-area on September 1 and Nicole played this at Ryan Raffel’s Celebration of Life. Please check it out. -Mike G.

That paragraph above was written and posted with the day 5 preview of TheTruth365 video, which you can watch here.  The song is so beautiful.  I hope they publish the lyrics to it because, being hard-of-hearing, I have no idea what the song actually says (if you want to know what it sounds like to me, it sounds like a foreign language).

I love Taylor!  I found her page on Facebook shortly after I found Ronan Thompson.  I even saw Mike Gillette on her Facebook page, and I never ever expected him to undertake such a huge, huge, huge project such as this social media campaign to help raise childhood cancer awareness. Every now and then, people surprise you.  But I can’t really say I’m surprised.  These kids deserve to have somebody in their corner, and I am so glad that Mike and Dena Scarpelli-Sherwood have stepped up to the plate.  Because without them, I think this September would be just like last September, with National Childhood Cancer Awareness Month largely being ignored and grossly overshadowed by breast cancer awareness pink.  Last year, where was the gold?  Nowhere I could see.  This September, that is changing.  It had better.

Nowhere to go but up, right?

If you want to know more about Taylor’s story, you can visit her facebook page.  She is the true essence of a cancer warrior.

Like The Truth365 page here and help the word get out:  Kids get cancer too, and they cannot fight alone.

Sign the petition here to “support an increase in pediatric cancer funding by the National Cancer Institute with the goal of eliminating cancer cancer as a threat to all children” (what the petition says and what you are signing and agreeing to).

Visit my Facebook page and “like” it to join the fight against this monster called childhood cancer that keeps stealing the lives of children.

I'd love to know what you think!

