November Gratitude List Part 1

 

I started a gratitude list on Facebook yesterday.  The deal is to list something you are grateful for every single day this month, but because I probably won’t remember some days, I am posting them all here, in 3 separate posts.  So here goes!

1.  I am thankful I can offer hope to other families when I tell them I am a stage 4 neuroblastoma survivor. There is nothing like hope, I tell you.  It is what inspires us to NEGU.  Childhood cancer advocating is a large part of what I was born to do.

2.  I am thankful that I was born into one of the BEST families out there (and yes, I’m kinda biased).  I have so many treasured memories!  My family never ever gave up on me, and I know that they will continue to never ever give up.  Because of that, I will NEGU either.

3.  I am thankful for my friends…  old and new.  You guys make my world go round!  There are too many of you to name, so I won’t even attempt to because of the risk of forgetting some of you, but you know who you are.  The love of my biological family and my adopted family (my friends) will always be one of the very best parts of me.

4.  I am thankful for the support and love of the close-knit childhood cancer community on Facebook, which welcomed me as an advocate and a survivor with open arms.  We NEGU for the kids.

5.  I am thankful the warmth of my home and for the coldness of the season (and the next) which just makes me appreciate the warmth even more.  Hot chocolate, my mom’s homemade soups and sweet treats, and warm, comfortable clothes make the cold tolerable.  Ha.

6.  I am thankful I live in United States of America and for the fact that I am free and capable of making up my own mind about things.  No one has the right to tell me that I am wrong, and if they do, so what?  I know who I am, and what I stand for, and that’s all that matters.

7.  I am thankful for my little dog, even though she thinks my bed is HERS.  I love it when she lays her head on my leg/ ankle/foot/whatever it may be.  The joy of having a dog, especially this dog, is indescribable.  Her company is priceless to me.  I even love waking up to find that she is edging me out of bed – because it means that she’s there and I’m not alone.  She just wants to be close to me.  She knows she is loved!

8. I am thankful for the gift of my lil niece, Miss Aliza.  She’s growing up so fast, and is so smart and funny and beautiful.  She helps me look at the world from a different perspective (that of a child) than mine.  Children have a tendency to remind us what is really important, and I pray that I’ll never forget the lessons Aliza teaches me.  Being her aunt is one of the greatest blessings of my life, and I cannot wait to meet whoever comes along next!

9.  I am thankful for the fact that, even though we hurt so much in this life, there is also great healing too.  In the end, everything will be okay.  If it’s not okay, it’s not the end.  Sometimes, the healing is not on this side of life, but in Heaven.  And that’s okay.  I am also grateful for the knowledge that, no matter how much I don’t understand it, God does NOT give children cancer.  He does NOT give anyone cancer or any other disease.  He allows it, that is true, but we just have to trust He has his reasons.  Perhaps that reason is so we could be at a certain place at a certain time.  We won’t know in this lifetime.  When we all get to heaven, this life will seem like a dream compared to eternity with everyone we love and will love in our lifetimes.  As little Starla Chapman said, “Just trust.”
10.  I am thankful for God’s plan, because even though I may not see what He sees or know what He knows, everything that is going to happen is happening on His terms, not mine.  If He just left me alone to deal with things by myself, I would not be here today.  I truly believe that.  He has GRACE and I have GRATITUDE, and it’s all going to be fine in the end.  I’ve surrendered my heart and I’m trusting.  That said, I don’t have any idea how anyone can look at the messes this world makes and not believe in something better, in a perfect place where everything is as it should be.  THIS can’t be all there is.  We have to be more than what we already are, because if there’s nothing else after this, there is no reason to get out of bed and do the same things we did the day before.  If there is nothing else after this, then hope dies.  And hope never dies.  It can’t…  because if it did, it wouldn’t be hope.
One thought on “November Gratitude List Part 1

  1. Pingback: The Land of the Free | spilledcookies

I'd love to know what you think!

