November Gratitude List Part 3

 

The above image resonates with me because there are people out there with nothing, who are freezing, starving, dying. There are people on the streets with no literal glasses, with no hope.  That is why it is so important for those of us with roofs over our heads, food in our bellies, clothes on our backs to be grateful for w hat we have.

So, with that in mind, I am going to finish my November Gratitude List.

21.  I may not be as physically strong as I would like to be, but at least I know I am loved.  I am thankful for that love, which surrounds me, and covers me.  Without love, the love of God, and that of my family and friends, I would truly be bereft.  It made me who I am today.

22.  I may not be able to express myself clearly by speaking aloud, but at least I have writing.  I am very thankful for the freedom that writing gives me.  And I will get to writing that novel ASAP.  I promise.  Just had to find my foothold as an advocate for childhood cancer awareness first.  I know I am there now.

23,  I may not be able to spend hours gabbing on the phone like other women, but at least now, there is texting. Communication has never been easier for me than it is now.  I am very grateful for this.

24.  I am very, very, very grateful when I hear/read that a child I follow on Facebook has reached N.E.D status (No Evidence of Disease).  No other acronym brings me such joy.  Recently, little Mia McDowell rang the end of treatment bell three times at her hospital in Oklahoma.  She is two, and was diagnosed 15 months ago, when she was 16 months old. I was diagnosed with the same monster (neuroblastoma) around the same age, so Mia’s story is that much more near and dear to my heart.  I love you to the moon and back, little monkey!  Always and forever.

25.  I may not be able to drive a car, walk without assistance (be that from a wall and/or furniture, another person, or a walker), or propel my manual wheelchair in a straight line, but I am so thankful that I am as independent as I am.  “I CAN DO IT” is one of my favorite sentences.  I can take care of myself.  I can take care of my dog.  I can, I can, I can, I can!

26.  I am thankful for books and the people who write them, for without them, my childhood would have been much more painful than it was.  I could and still can escape for hours from reality.  What a lifesaver!

27.  I am thankful for visits from friends (both the surprise visits and those I know about), and the ability to reach out to those I love.

28.  I am very thankful for the internet and social media.  Without it, my life would be very lonely and boring.  The internet makes me feel connected to the world even when I am not out in it.  And to know that the people I love are as close as technology can get them to me is priceless.

29.  I am thankful for the freedom of speech (which I do have no matter who tries to censor me), and my education.  I am constantly trying to test my boundaries (what else is life for, right?), and sometimes, if I am lucky, I set new ones.  This is how I learn what works and what doesn’t.

30.  I am thankful that I am as open-minded and as open-hearted as I am.  Without being able to comprehend and accept new things, how do I expect anything to change?  This world is far from perfect, and never will be (until Jesus comes back), but I am willing and able to take in everything life throws at me.  I feel sad for closed-minded people.  Their world is small, and lots of things are impossible, because they simply won’t let them in.  As the Earth revolves around the sun, so must we around life.

One thought on “November Gratitude List Part 3

  1. Pingback: Gratitude, Spirit & Social Media

I'd love to know what you think!

