Prayer Requests

I am seeking

I feel like I should write something, because I haven’t in a while, and it’s December.  Looking back on 2012, I think of what a long year it has been, like a million years disguised as one.  Maybe that is what happens when you get older?  I dunno.  It is the first year that I can say that.  This has also been the first year that I really dived into childhood cancer advocating.  Maybe last year – 2011 – was a test…  Maybe I was just trying it out, trying to see if it stuck to me like glue.  Guess what?  It did.  And I wouldn’t have it any other way.  God wouldn’t have it any other way.

It is hard sometimes.    I heard some bad news about one of the kids I follow yesterday.  Her tumors have grown despite the chemo.  She’s only two, and she recently became a big sister.  She’s a doll.  Really, I could say that about all the kids, because they’re all beautiful.  They’re all precious.  But Maddie’s special.  I can’t put my finger on it exactly, but I feel drawn to her and her story like a bee to a flower.  Maybe it’s because she is around the age I was when I was going through treatment?  I dunno.  She has Choroid Plexus Carcinoma, brain cancer.  She has two tumors.  The fact that they are growing despite the treatment makes me want to scream and cry.

I know God has a plan here.  I know it is good, and that in the end, it will still be good, because it has to be.  Maddie’s story is not going to end here.  Her doctors will come up with a plan.  In Maddie’s case, her cancer spread to her spine, and scarred the natural process of spinal fluid transferring from the brain down through her small body.  I know that sounds scary.  It scares me, and I can only imagine how much it scared her parents.  She had to have a shunt surgically placed to drain the fluid for her.  And as far as things stand right now, with her growing tumors, her parents will meet with her doctors tomorrow.  I hope and pray that they come up with a plan to help Maddie, and I’m asking you to do the same.

And then there’s Micah…  my lil man.  I met his mama, Gina, through the Facebook page I started specifically for pediatric cancer awareness, because I felt like I was bogging down my personal Facebook.  Micah was diagnosed last December, 2 days before Christmas, with neuroblastoma.  He was just 5 months old.  Gina and I quickly became friends, and we talk every single day now.  Micah has had extreme pain in his stomach recently, and his episodes are extremely stressful because we don’t know what it is, or even what it could be.

Yesterday, Gina got the amazing news that Micah has CLEAR scans!  Next week, he has a surgical procedure to try to figure out what is causing him pain.  We are really perplexed here, and could really use the prayers, good thoughts, anything positive that you could send in little Micah’s direction.  Thank you.

I'd love to know what you think!

