Tragedy is one of the Loudest Things in the World

Collage courtesy of Dawn Guler

Collage courtesy of Dawn Guler

Firstly, I must admit that I have not read or watched anything on Friday’s elementary school tragedy outside of Facebook.  I cannot bear it.  My dad has had CNN on the TV the last few mornings, and I thank GOD that I am hard of hearing and can’t understand what they are saying on TV unless I am reading the closed captioning,  When I look at the TV, the images and the story headlines are enough to bring me to tears.  I quickly look away.  It is not that I don’t want to cry for the precious lives lost – I do – but I know that if I start, I would have a really hard time stopping.  So I just allow myself a moment here and there, in which I tear up and then quickly find something to distract myself with.

One thing I know for sure:  God is not to blame for this tragedy.  No one is to blame but the killer.  I don’t want to dwell on dark thoughts, because that would not be helpful.  But I will say this:  It really says a lot about how messed up we are as a society when half the country is wondering how we can keep this from happening again, and the other half is wondering how to keep the government from taking their guns away.

Seriously, people?  On Friday, I said something about the 2nd amendment on my Facebook status:

It is mine own opinion that there is absolutely NO reason a law-abiding citizen should have semi-automatic weapons.  No reason whatsoever.

I have had this sick feeling in my stomach all weekend.  Still have it.  And when I read the names of those lost to this world, those innocent, precious lives, my heart shatters all over again.  I cannot imagine what it would be like to be a mother or father and have to take my child, or children, to school today.  I cannot imagine that fear.  That uncertainty.  That heartache.  I pray for these parents and I pray for each and every child in school.  School is supposed to be a safe place, but the reality is, anything can happen, and sometimes bad things do. We can’t control the actions of others, much as we’d like to.   There’s always that risk.  It’s horrible and frightening, but it is the reality of this world we live in.

I do NOT want to remember the name of the person who is the cause of this tragedy.  He does not deserve to be remembered.  Instead, I want to remember the victims’ names.  I want to remember their faces and their stories.  Their families and friends have a permanent place in my prayers.  The little faces of the children and those of the teachers who went with them are in my heart.    They will always be.  Tragedy is one of the loudest things in the world, and within it, I want to offer a moment of silence to remember.

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted. Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth. Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied. Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy. Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.”– Matthew 5: 3-9

I'd love to know what you think!

